Homemade Cracked Wheat Bread 

Growing up, my siblings and I always thought that store bought bread was such a treat and our friends always thought that going to our house was for homemade bread was a treat! What were we thinking? Most the whole world knows that one should always choose homemade bread over store bought. The following recipe is one of the favorites that hails from my mom’s kitchen. Now, I make it in my own!  

What you need: 

4 cups warm water

1 tbsp. yeast

1 tbsp. salt

2 tbsp. oil

4 tbsp. honey

1/4 cup wheat germ

1/2 cup cracked wheat (if you don’t have this, you can grind bulgar up)

2 cups whole wheat flour

5-51/2 cups white flour

Preheat oven: 350°F. 

How to: 

Sprinkle the yeast into the warm water. Let stand for five minutes. Next, mix in salt, oil, and honey. Add wheat germ and cracked wheat. Finally, add the whole wheat and white flour. Let rise until doubled. It should look like this before kneading and forming:  

 
After it has doubled, knead the dough and form into two loaves. Let rise again. Then bake at 350° for 25 minutes. When done, gently cover the top of the loaves with butter. Your end result should look something like this:  

  
Homemade bread is always a treat. Now that I am an adult, I realize this. I hope you realize this and whip up a batch of this most delicious cracked wheat bread. It is perfect for sandwiches or just perfect fresh and warm with butter. 

Brought to you by the kitchen of: Rebecca 

  

Leave a comment